Echoes of darkness

Strange how people you meet sometimes voice your feelings to the echo. Bumped into a very lovely woman from the parish today who’s had major surgery and ongoing horrible treatment. She’s always been a glass half full kind of woman and has had a horrible six months.

‘I feel as though my past life has just gone. Physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually, everything has just been turned upside down so I don’t know which way is up anymore. As though someone took my life, put it in a jar and shook it so vigorously that it all got jumbled up. And I don’t know how to put it back together.’

Felt like she was a ventriloquist speaking my words. Yet she remained ruefully cheerful despite it all. More than I can do at the moment. I murmured some (I hope) appropriately sympathetic somethings.

Is it terrible to feel grateful that someone else really knows what you’re going through, when you know it means they’ve visited the same darkness?

 

Leave a comment